POStudios Forum

The Royal Archives => The Dark Age => Off-Topic => Topic started by: Kimmie on May 04, 2008, 02:34:39 AM

Title: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Kimmie on May 04, 2008, 02:34:39 AM
 ;D I couldnt find a similar thread so thought for the first time in ages, I'd make a new thread!

Basically ask your questions here and see who can help you!

My reason for starting this thread is because I NEED HELP! When Lenny said about getting his dad the XP version of the KQ series I went to have a look on amazon and here is what I found;
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Classic-Collections-Kings-Quest-Collection/dp/B000P0JQFA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=videogames&qid=1209889654&sr=8-1

Now I was amazed firtsly by the price...I am right aren't I...it is the XP edition and would work on my computer?  :suffer: But the main question I want to know stems from the customer review who mentions switching to windows 95 compatibility!
How do you do that? How do you switch it back? Is it complicated? Will it work with all my older games  :suffer:

Does anyone know? Does anyone think I should purchase those games and find out? I would love to actually get further on kq3 and get past that wizard...i was never able to! And oh dig up those graves again with rosella LOL!
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: icarus on May 04, 2008, 02:40:39 AM
As I can see it's the same box I have.I didn't have to change to windows 95 compatibility. It just runns in xp and 2000 (so probably also vista). So it would't be dificult to install and play. 
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Kimmie on May 04, 2008, 03:24:02 AM
how much memory does it need to run smoothly?
I guess it'd be worth a go because it's only like 5  :suffer:
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: icarus on May 04, 2008, 03:26:48 AM
128MB ram and 1,2GB hard drive space
how much memory does it need to run smoothly?
I guess it'd be worth a go because it's only like 5  :suffer:
(same reason I bought it)
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Kimmie on May 04, 2008, 03:32:51 AM
13.9 GB / 448mb Ram

I think I'll go for it :D
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Shades2585 on May 04, 2008, 08:31:46 AM
Kimmie
They licensed DosBox http://www.DosBox.com and made a slight install/startup interface and released three box sets KQ, SQ, and PQ. Apparently they didn't fix or patch any bugs, but hey it's something.
If you have all the originally games you can download the current DosBox and do it yourself though.

As to "95 Compatibility" it is something built into 98, XP and Vista. (Doesn't always work but it is normally ok) To set something to 95 Compatible

1) Install program
2) Right click on the shortcut to the program (Sometimes you might have to do this on the executable as well.)
3) Select Properties
4) Select the "Compatibility" Tab
5) Check the box for Compatibility Mode
6) Select OS you want to be compatible with.
7) Click Apply then ok

Now all you should have to do is double click the shortcut and the program should run. (in theary  ;) )

I hope that helps.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: icarus on May 04, 2008, 08:45:53 AM
Shades
for this king's quest version you don't have to change the windows compatibility. The games run in windows xp and 2000. There is no need to change the windows compatibility. This is only nesesery when using old king's quest games.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Shades2585 on May 04, 2008, 08:50:10 AM
Correct DosBox doesn't require compatibility mode thus neither does that collection but I was explaining how to do that.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Kimmie on May 04, 2008, 04:16:39 PM
thanks shades...that may help me with some other games I was trying to run the other day. I think they were like 95/98 and i couldnt do anything with them. I'll have a go tomorrow and report back  ;D knew I'd set this thread up for a good reason  ;) :suffer:
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: racx_00 on May 04, 2008, 04:18:47 PM
Yeah, really, these XP editions are pretty useless unless you don't have the sets already. As for compatibility mode, it's never really worked that well for me.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Kimmie on May 04, 2008, 04:22:01 PM
I has the Kq collection that was the earlier edition but i don't think it ever worked on this computer...I'm not sure but I "think" ages ago we may have discussed the dos thing?? I can't remember whether I tried it with KQ. But anyway I've bought the XP edition now, it wasnt expensive so if it doesnt work then "Meh" I can either leave it or try to send it back  :suffer:
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: racx_00 on May 04, 2008, 04:24:40 PM
XP Edition will definitely work, especially if it uses DOSBox for all of them.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Shades2585 on May 05, 2008, 09:43:30 AM
It should work fine.

Hopefully your other games will work for you as well.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: awesomeasapossum on May 10, 2008, 12:36:00 PM
I has the Kq collection that was the earlier edition but i don't think it ever worked on this computer...I'm not sure but I "think" ages ago we may have discussed the dos thing?? I can't remember whether I tried it with KQ. But anyway I've bought the XP edition now, it wasnt expensive so if it doesnt work then "Meh" I can either leave it or try to send it back  :suffer:
The one with the purple discs? I have that, and am able to run it on XP. It's a lot of work though. I'd Google around, there are instructions, I think even on this forum under Adventure Gaming.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: waltzdancing on June 13, 2008, 09:31:30 PM
I don't know if anyone can help me but my desktop has stopped working and the reoccurring message is...
"error with the VVD."  and then the computer will lock me out and i have to restore the files so windows will load. Does anyone know what this is and how to fix it?
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Yonkey on June 13, 2008, 09:43:19 PM
It sounds like some Windows system file got corrupt.  You might have to re-install Windows.  Or you could try taking it to a computer technician and maybe they can fix the exact file for you.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: waltzdancing on June 14, 2008, 10:07:07 PM
Thanks for the help Yonkey. It ended up being the video card itself that was corrupting the new hard drive I installed. My father thinks that the card had been going bad for a while.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Yonkey on June 14, 2008, 11:05:24 PM
Yeah, I figured it was either a video card driver or virtual memory.  I've just never seen "VVD" before.  VxD errors used to signify memory leaks in Windows 98& 95, but I doubt your operating system is that old. :P
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: icarus on June 16, 2008, 02:49:44 AM
Yeah, I figured it was either a video card driver or virtual memory.  I've just never seen "VVD" before.  VxD errors used to signify memory leaks in Windows 98& 95, but I doubt your operating system is that old. :P
lol thiks it's a dutch error. VVD is a political group in the Netherlands. Some call it veel vrije dagen or translated many free days  :P
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: waltzdancing on June 16, 2008, 09:09:55 AM
Yeah, I figured it was either a video card driver or virtual memory.  I've just never seen "VVD" before.  VxD errors used to signify memory leaks in Windows 98& 95, but I doubt your operating system is that old. :P

I haven't had that error yet but my operating system is ME and sometimes the comes up as 98.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Yonkey on June 16, 2008, 08:18:36 PM
Windows ME?! :X I didn't know people still use that horrid operating system. :P
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Kimmie on August 26, 2008, 03:46:40 AM
Does anybody know a REALLY good anime artist?
I'm looking to get a comission done but on Deviant Art the people I'm trying to contact...either don't respond or can't do it...and I'm running out of time :(
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Elessar on November 06, 2008, 08:28:59 AM
Windows ME?! :X I didn't know people still use that horrid operating system. :P

Maybe we should do a poll to see which is worse, ME or Vista? :-X
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: snabbott on November 06, 2008, 09:41:36 AM
Windows ME?! :X I didn't know people still use that horrid operating system. :P

Maybe we should do a poll to see which is worse, ME or Vista? :-X
Wasn't ME basically a service pack to 98? Actually, I don't mind Vista so much now that it doesn't crash all the time (I haven't had a crash in months!). Of course, that may be because I turned UAC off!  :-\

Edit: That sounds like I'm saying it doesn't crash because I have UAC turned off. That's not what I meant.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: tessspoon on November 06, 2008, 10:32:55 AM
UAC?
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: snabbott on November 06, 2008, 11:30:34 AM
UAC?
User Account Control - the annoying thing that pops up every time you do something and asks if you're really sure you want to do that.  :furious:

(http://weblog.infoworld.com/stratdev/WindowsLiveWriter/VistaUserAccountControlandtheLinuxSuperu_8A2E/Vista%20UAC%20screen%5B2%5D.png)
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Elessar on November 06, 2008, 02:19:45 PM
UAC?
User Account Control - the annoying thing that pops up every time you do something and asks if you're really sure you want to do that.  :furious:

Quote
"The reason we put UAC into the (Vista) platform was to annoy users--I'm serious"
- David Cross (http://news.zdnet.com/2100-9590_22-197085.html)
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: tessspoon on November 06, 2008, 03:44:59 PM
Quote
"It's a myth that users click 'yes,' 'yes,' 'yes,' 'yes,'" said Cross
Pretty much what I do. :P
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: Yonkey on November 06, 2008, 09:21:35 PM
Vista's pretty annoying, bloated and sluggish... but ME would just randomly crash & blue screen for absolutely no apparent reason.  I'm not sure if it was meant to be a service pack for 98.  Usually service packs are meant to improve the product and fix bugs... not introduce more serious ones! ::) :P
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: snabbott on November 07, 2008, 08:11:42 AM
Vista's pretty annoying, bloated and sluggish... but ME would just randomly crash & blue screen for absolutely no apparent reason.  I'm not sure if it was meant to be a service pack for 98.  Usually service packs are meant to improve the product and fix bugs... not introduce more serious ones! ::) :P
I don't think it was meant to be a service pack. The impression I've gotten is that 2000 wasn't ready, and they released ME just to get something out the door.  :P
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: PirateKingChris on November 07, 2008, 02:36:54 PM
I don't think I've had a single problem with Vista *knocks on wood*...I dunno what all the complaints are about :P And ME was terrible. My computer with it crashed EVERY TIME I used it.
Title: Re: The "HELP!" Thread
Post by: snabbott on November 07, 2008, 03:38:21 PM
I don't think I've had a single problem with Vista *knocks on wood*
Consider yourself fortunate. When I first got my laptop, I was getting the Blue Screen of Death on a regular basis. It wasn't until shortly after SP1 came out that it started behaving. I haven't had any problems since *also knocks on wood*.