POStudios Forum

The Royal Archives => The Silver Age => Off-Topic => Topic started by: Celli on March 01, 2004, 08:08:10 PM

Title: Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 01, 2004, 08:08:10 PM
Does anyone have the KQC and been able to get it to work properly on Windows ME?  I want to play KQ4 and 7 so bad, but it's not working! :(
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: TakariFreak on March 01, 2004, 09:51:28 PM
I have it on ME, and it works fine for me...

What sorts of errors are you getting?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on March 02, 2004, 03:49:34 AM
I have that problem so i skip the computer tests ;), and go straight to the installing ;-D

Is that the problem you have ???
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on March 02, 2004, 02:54:36 PM
Just for the record: Windows Me sucked. >:(
So, I just went straight from Win95 OSR 2 to Windows XP. ;D
Don't know if KQC will work on XP, but if it doesn't, I've still got the Win95-pc. ;-D
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 02, 2004, 08:45:09 PM
Skip the tests, why didn't I think of that before? lol :p Thanks! I've gotten it working again! :D The three year drought is over!!

New problem though...lol I'm playing TR7, and I have no music. There are sound effects, but no music.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Oldbushie on March 02, 2004, 09:12:54 PM
TR7? What's that?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 02, 2004, 09:31:36 PM
Wow...where did I get that from? lol I mean KQ7. :p

FYI, I'm in a ton of meds right now for a stomach infection so I may not be all here mentally for awhile. ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Oldbushie on March 02, 2004, 09:50:40 PM
Dang. :P

Good luck, may your stomach see better days!
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on March 03, 2004, 01:16:54 AM
   [Just for the record: Windows Me sucked. >:(
So, I just went straight from Win95 OSR 2 to Windows XP. ;D -- Copycat]

   I agree Windows Me was poor.  However, in my opinion, Windows 98SE rocks because it is still supported by Microsoft and it doesn't need the most powerful computer.  New games still support it and many people still use it.  In addition, it is expensive to continue to upgrade frequently.  Windows 98SE runs most of the new hardware and the underlying code is 9x which is more closely linked to DOS than the NT (Not There --- people used to joke --- read it in a book about Microsoft) code which is what XP is based upon.  Unfortunately, we will all eventually have to upgrade and I may skip the XP radiated product and go to Longhorn which should be in stores by 2006 when 98SE bites the dust.  (Alas, this will be NT based -- they say more secure --- we will see.)  If you have not guessed it yet, I enjoy computers very much and have some knowledge about how they work.  I remember learning Basic programming which my Dad taught me when I was young.  I could work with computers as a career but I would rather work with kids because they keep me young and I do not want to be tied down to a desk.  Thank you very much.
   The King's Quest Collection will work with 98SE because I have it and it works.   :)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on March 03, 2004, 03:38:04 AM
Skip the tests, why didn't I think of that before? lol :p Thanks! I've gotten it working again! :D The three year drought is over!!

New problem though...lol I'm playing TR7, and I have no music. There are sound effects, but no music.

You are welcome ;D.

also i have that problem with KQ7 every time i reinstall :-\, and i am just about to reinstall so when i workit out ill let you know ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on March 03, 2004, 01:54:16 PM
  [Just for the record: Windows Me sucked. >:(
So, I just went straight from Win95 OSR 2 to Windows XP. ;D -- Copycat]
See? This is how you quote. ;)

However, in my opinion, Windows 98SE rocks because it is still supported by Microsoft and it doesn't need the most powerful computer.
Windows95 OSR2 ROCKS! ;P
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: MangoMercury on March 03, 2004, 02:26:01 PM
WHOA BATMAN HAS RETURNED FROM THE DEPTHS!

...  Okay.

You must have a different KQ collection to me.  I only have 1 - 6 in it...  Odd.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: B'rrr on March 03, 2004, 02:27:15 PM
never seen any windows that rocks ; ) ..I do have a great respect for mirosoft though. It amazes me that they put together a 'working' product ; )

Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on March 03, 2004, 02:51:29 PM
You must have a different KQ collection to me.  I only have 1 - 6 in it...  Odd.
There's (at least) two KQ Collections, one with KQ1-6, and one with KQ1-7. I've got the 1-6 too. 8)

never seen any windows that rocks ; ) ..I do have a great respect for mirosoft though. It amazes me that they put together a 'working' product ; )
MS-DOS was a completely 'working' product. So, since Windows95 is closest to DOS (apart from Windows 3.11, which was only a shell on DOS), it's the best working product. :P
My Windows95 can recover from a BSOD, Windows XP (home) can't. Therefor, Windows95 rocks. Now, if you really want a working product, you've got to look away from M$ and onto a Unix-taste.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 03, 2004, 03:45:48 PM
Are you running KQC in DOS or Windows, and does that make a difference in regards to sound?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 03, 2004, 06:14:33 PM
Run into a problem now. :P I kind of need the music in order to hear the dragonettes' song in Etheria.

Any solutions to getting the music to come back?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on March 03, 2004, 06:48:08 PM
Are you running KQ7 in Dos or Windows?
And when you installed KQ7 did u go for the biggest install or the smallest install?
And what operating system are u using?

Tell me all the details of your KQ7 install and i maybe able to help ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 03, 2004, 07:29:54 PM
I went for the big install, I'm running in Windows and I have ME.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on March 03, 2004, 07:41:44 PM
ok i will look into it for you ;D, even though my operating system is Win98se i think i can help you ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on March 05, 2004, 03:05:21 PM
Run into a problem now. :P I kind of need the music in order to hear the dragonettes' song in Etheria.

Any solutions to getting the music to come back?
Do you have absolutely no sound or just no 'voices' (in this case the singing)? Also, what soundcard-type are you using? Is it embedded on your motherboard or is it a seperate card?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 05, 2004, 04:59:07 PM
I have sound, like voices and effects, but no music.

I'd have to double check, but I think my soundcard is an ESS Allegro.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on March 06, 2004, 08:15:09 AM
You must have a different KQ collection to me.  I only have 1 - 6 in it...  Odd.

IIRC, There were 2 collections... I also have only 1-6 in mine  ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: MangoMercury on March 06, 2004, 09:48:03 AM
Must just depend on which country you're in, perhaps?  I didn't need 7 anyway, as I already had it, lol.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on March 06, 2004, 10:12:38 AM
I think it has more to do with when you bought the collection than where... my collection was bought in the US  ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 06, 2004, 03:01:05 PM
Any solutions to the music problem?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: MangoMercury on March 06, 2004, 03:51:48 PM
But I bought mine about 4 or 5 years after KQ7 came out...
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on March 07, 2004, 04:38:29 AM
Mango XB, you must have bought old stock ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: koko_99_2001 on March 07, 2004, 08:38:38 AM
Has anyone figured out how to get KQC to work on Windows XP?  I've been told in the past how to get it to work, but me, being computer illiterate, had no idea what they were talking about. Any suggestions?  (Of course, I'm at school this week, so I couldn't try anything until next week after I *hopefully* remember to pick it up from home!)

Catherine
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: MangoMercury on March 07, 2004, 02:05:50 PM
Nah, it did say it was KQC1-6, so I knew what I was getting.  And all cos I threw my clock against the wall and the hands fell off :D
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jeysie on March 07, 2004, 06:34:13 PM
Hmm. I have 98, fixed up with the 95 explorer shell and some LitePC tweaking. The only time I get BSODs is when I'm trying to encode video, because for some reason my video capture software randomly decides not to play nice.

Peace & Luv, Liz
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on March 07, 2004, 06:42:12 PM
Any solutions to the music problem?

I really don't know what to tell you:-[
I don't use ME myself, and since you do have sound it obviously recognizes your sound card. I would have suggested you use something like Dosbox or VDMSound, but KQ7 is a Windows game so I don't think that would work :S

Here's one crappy solution though, just to get over that puzzle - find a walkthrough that tells you which strings to play  :-\
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on March 07, 2004, 06:43:57 PM
   Have you tried reinstalling it or contacting the company for support?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Celli on March 07, 2004, 08:58:38 PM
I've discovered that it's not just KQ7, but the entire collection.  I might have to dig through the folder to see what I can find.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on March 08, 2004, 02:53:34 AM
Well i have never had problems with the whole collection ;D
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on March 08, 2004, 03:40:34 PM
  Have you tried reinstalling it or contacting the company for support?

I thought Sierra doesn't support it's old games anymore? ???
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on March 09, 2004, 01:36:20 PM
   Actually, that previous comment was for Jeysie with her video editing problems.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jeysie on March 09, 2004, 04:03:58 PM
Actually, that previous comment was for Jeysie with her video editing problems.

Oh. Er. Yeah, I've tried re-installing, didn't help. I could try e-mailing the company, but seeing as how the card/software is several years old, I doubt it's worth it. I'll be getting a new computer eventually anyways. It at least works most of the time, which is good enough for my current purposes.

Peace & Luv, Liz
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on March 10, 2004, 02:00:15 PM
I would like to see your statistics about how frequently they happen to you?
Ah, hmmm, ehrm... ;] I don't keep statistics of my BSOD's. And, since I can always recover from them, I click on the 'any'-key automatically when it happens.

I hope to see you there as well Copycat and we can get some MVPs views on the two products.
;]
A Windows98 newsgroup? I don't think so. Besides, I don't do newsgroups, not even a Windows95 OSR2-one.
Title: KQC
Post by: copycat on March 30, 2004, 01:26:20 PM
I have the copy from The KQC so thats probably why i dont have problems ;)
I bought it seperate because I already had KQ1-6 in my version of the KQC.
Title: KQC
Post by: racx_00 on March 31, 2004, 06:24:08 AM
You have to older one like Mangoes ;)
Title: KQC
Post by: copycat on March 31, 2004, 09:32:17 AM
(c) 1994 SIerra On-Line Inc. Celebrating Sierra On-Line's 15th anniversary. 8)
Title: KQC
Post by: Storm on March 31, 2004, 03:23:06 PM
That would be the older collection... I've got it as well  :)
Title: KQC
Post by: racx_00 on March 31, 2004, 09:47:44 PM
ill scan a picture of the box art and show you it to you later ;B

The games that came with it were KQ1 to KQ7, LB1 and LB2, Mixed up Mother goose, old apple games ;D

Mini games and bonus materials were King's Questions, Royal Scribe, Inside the Chest, Nicks Picks, Making of KQ6 and preview and making of KQ8
Title: KQC
Post by: racx_00 on April 01, 2004, 04:05:57 AM
This is what the cover of mine looks like ;D, i couldnt fit in all of the cover though :-\
Title: KQC
Post by: copycat on April 01, 2004, 01:43:06 PM
I've got (obviously) KQ1 (twice)-6 (KQ5 in English and French, KQ6 in English and German), A first look at the upcoming King's Quest VII, and an interview with RW.
I think those mini-games apply to every collection.
Title: KQC
Post by: FataliOmega on April 01, 2004, 01:47:33 PM
....Sierra is weird... I understand what the crown has to do with KQ... but two swords with lightning? That isnt KQish at all... Swords never had much of a role, and certainly not magic swords... It probably wouldve been more relevant for the QfG series.... I never liked Sierra's marketing ???
Title: KQC
Post by: racx_00 on April 02, 2004, 06:44:36 AM
The front bit lifts up and then it has information on the KQ series ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 07, 2004, 12:44:40 AM
Just out of curiousity --- did anyone ever buy the Roberta Williams Anthology that had almost all of Roberta's games on it?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: racx_00 on September 07, 2004, 04:36:25 AM
Never heard of it :-\

BTW there has been talk of people not able to run KQ on XP, now i know this thread has nothing to do with that (and i dont know if this has been mentioned before but) if you have trouble running them on XP you could run them through safe mode of XP :D, something new i learnt ;D
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 08, 2004, 12:46:39 AM
Here is what it is ---  ;)

Dew's Link (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=62053&item=8130217308&rd=1&ssPageName=WDVW)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on September 08, 2004, 10:38:10 AM
I don't have the Roberta Williams Anthology... only the KQ (first) collection.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 08, 2004, 01:52:40 PM
I have the second collection of KQ.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jafar on September 09, 2004, 05:06:44 AM
I used to have the KQ Collection(Second one I think). But it...well...er...kind of...exploded ;]
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 09, 2004, 05:36:43 PM
Huh?   ???
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jafar on September 09, 2004, 10:51:52 PM
Its true. Disk one exploded and cost us a CD-ROM drive. I still have Disk 2 though. And I'm probably going to get it again...
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 10, 2004, 12:09:02 AM
Dang!  I never heard of that happening to a cd.   :o
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jafar on September 10, 2004, 01:07:25 AM
I should of cleaned it first. Let this be a lesson to everyone, keep your CDs from disrepair and dirt and they won't blow up the CD-ROM drive.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 10, 2004, 05:03:05 PM
Taking care of your stuff makes a difference -- --  ;)

I have found you need to really take care of dvds and in many ways they are more fragile than video tapes.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: FataliOmega on September 10, 2004, 10:29:51 PM
I have heard of CD's exploding in one of my "friend of a friend"'s computers. It literally tore through the entire computer. Reminds me of how frag grenades work...  :pokerface:
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Louisiana Night on September 10, 2004, 10:53:33 PM
I've never seen one explode, but I've seen something similar.

I've seen CDs just snap, when someone applys pressure to both sides. One time, this was not the case.

I saw someone decide to snap a CD, and instead of breaking into two parts, flew off in all directions, in countless pieces.

Even the hard part of the CD, seperated from the film-like part.

Scary. :o
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jafar on September 10, 2004, 11:41:48 PM
I have heard of CD's exploding in one of my "friend of a friend"'s computers. It literally tore through the entire computer. Reminds me of how frag grenades work...  :pokerface:
Whoa! :o I was lucky then. Only the CD-ROM drive was affected.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Jeysie on September 11, 2004, 07:52:25 AM
Hmm. I've heard of people nuking CDs in the microwave and exploding them that way, but I've never heard of it happening in a CD-ROM drive. Maybe the drive just was producing too much heat and vibration? ???

Peace & Luv, Liz
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Yonkey on September 11, 2004, 02:02:45 PM
Maybe someone was using it as a coaster before it literally turned into one. ;-D
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 11, 2004, 04:46:45 PM
Now all those AOL cd's that come in the mail make good coasters.   ;D  (Just noticed that there is a thread about this --- wow threads popping up all over the place now)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on September 14, 2004, 03:26:12 PM
I thought CDs only explode when you burn them at too high a speed :S

Hmm. I've heard of people nuking CDs in the microwave and exploding them that way

*Looks at the MOE CD*

I wish I had a microwave :stabs: :stabs: :stabs:
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 14, 2004, 04:20:02 PM
Why not sell it on Ebay.   :D

I am surprised that the Roberta William's Anthology sold for $117.50 --- Wow that is a high price  :o   :o   :o   :o
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on September 14, 2004, 04:25:45 PM
Why not sell it on Ebay.   :D

Let's just say I have my reasons ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Yonkey on September 14, 2004, 07:17:08 PM
Let's just say I have my reasons ;)

Is one of 'em vengence? :suffer: XD
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 14, 2004, 07:22:30 PM
Who knows?  Maybe Storm had a bad Ebay experience and does not want to use them anymore.  Only Storm can clear up this puzzle.  lol  ???   :suffer:
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: nanarel on September 17, 2004, 03:53:19 PM
Yeah it runs. Anybody interested in buying any King's Quest games.  I have King's Quest I-IV all boxed with all the manuels.  I was surprised when I got these games in such very good condition.  My email address is sbgseeker1@yahoo.com if anyone is interested. Thanks.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on September 17, 2004, 04:12:57 PM
Yeah it runs. Anybody interested in buying any King's Quest games.  I have King's Quest I-IV all boxed with all the manuels.  I was surprised when I got these games in such very good condition.  My email address is sbgseeker1@yahoo.com if anyone is interested. Thanks.
Why'd you want to sell your KQ games? :o
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: nanarel on September 17, 2004, 04:36:09 PM
Because I have extra copies that I don't need.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on September 17, 2004, 04:51:15 PM
Because I have extra copies that I don't need.
If you already had them, why'd you bother acquiring them again?
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Louisiana Night on September 17, 2004, 06:54:57 PM
He got the collection/anthology? :-\
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: nanarel on September 17, 2004, 07:08:36 PM
No, I have the original games in their boxes.  Very good condition.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Louisiana Night on September 17, 2004, 07:11:51 PM
I meant that was a good reason to sell your original games. :P
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: copycat on September 18, 2004, 10:22:48 AM
I meant that was a good reason to sell your original games. :P
When I found out about the KQ series, the collection containing 1-6 was already out so I bought that, and IIRC KQ7 at the same time. However, I still have FPFP box and LSL5&6, all with original 3,5" discs. ;-D
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Louisiana Night on September 18, 2004, 10:30:02 AM
I have 3.5" floppys, CDs, and other storage devices with the KQ games on them(other=backups). I can't seem to find my QfG discs though.  :(
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 18, 2004, 11:44:07 PM
LN, don't you mean 3.5 floppies ---- never heard of 2.5 floppies?   ::)   ???   ::)   :S
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Louisiana Night on September 18, 2004, 11:53:21 PM
That's what happens when they break. XD

P.S. It was typo, thanks for telling me.
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: dew7 on September 19, 2004, 12:03:44 AM
You're welcome!   ;D  lol
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on December 22, 2004, 02:49:00 PM
Let's just say I have my reasons ;)

Is one of 'em vengence? :suffer: XD

Why, my reasons are purely humanitarian! I merely pity the unsuspecting fool who buys it :angel:
Plus, I wouldn't want to ruin my eBay reputation on my very first sale ;)

I have the first KQ collection and extra copies of KQ5 & 6, and even an original boxed copy of KQ5 on 5.25" floppies (I don't even have a 5.25" disk drive anymore :(). I wouldn't sell them though ;)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Storm on December 22, 2004, 03:08:04 PM
Hmm. I've heard of people nuking CDs in the microwave and exploding them that way, but I've never heard of it happening in a CD-ROM drive. Maybe the drive just was producing too much heat and vibration? ???

I've also heard of "exploding CDs", but from what I gathered, it usually happens when you burn CDs at high speeds, especially if the media you're using is low quality or just not suitable for that speed. Even then, the disk would simply break - it's not a "CD goes poof" kind of explosion 8)
Title: Re:Kings Quest Collection
Post by: Oldbushie on June 29, 2005, 05:01:32 PM
I've seen some odd messed up DVDs... makes me wonder what people do to them... o_O