POStudios Forum

The Royal Archives => TSL General Archives => Topic started by: Haids1987 on June 27, 2010, 08:41:43 PM

Title: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 27, 2010, 08:41:43 PM
...to go back and play through all the old King's Quest games to brush up before the big TSL release?  I'm totally going to, and I'm starting tonight. ;D Good to be prepared, and to catch any possible allusions to previous games, right?  (Except Mask of Eternity.  I never actually played that one. ;) Besides, I could probably find a play-through on YouTube.)

Anyway, yeah.  Anyone else going to geek out and play every KQ game?
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Rosella on June 27, 2010, 08:47:45 PM
Oooh, that sounds like a fun thing to do. Like some sort of community race to TSL. XD
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 27, 2010, 08:51:28 PM
Haha, right. You've got the idea.  Are you going to, Rosie?
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Rosella on June 27, 2010, 08:54:46 PM
Now that you've brought up the idea? Absolutely. XD
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 27, 2010, 09:12:16 PM
Awesome! As soon as I put my jammies on tonight, I'm starting Quest for the Crown!   :)
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 27, 2010, 09:24:48 PM
Well, I can only play I-IV, since my disk drive isn't working. But that does sound like an awesome idea.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: tessspoon on June 27, 2010, 09:28:20 PM
Awesome idea! I'll start tomorrow. :yes:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 27, 2010, 09:30:48 PM
Well, I can only play I-IV, since my disk drive isn't working.
Oh no!  Do you have the 2006 Collection put out by Vivendi?  You don't need the disk for that one!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 27, 2010, 09:35:13 PM
Well, I can only play I-IV, since my disk drive isn't working.
Oh no!  Do you have the 2006 Collection put out by Vivendi?  You don't need the disk for that one!

No, I have a really old collection. I'm not sure when, but it's from before Vivendi even owned the IP, so it's been a while.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 27, 2010, 09:38:17 PM
You should order it off of Amazon.  It's nothing special, just a place to play all seven original games, but it's worth it. :yes:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: B'rrr on June 28, 2010, 01:28:29 AM
No diskdrive as in, floppy disk or compact disk or... ?

You can find a friend who has a working diskdrive and let him/her mail it to you.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Kimmie on June 28, 2010, 03:02:11 AM
I bought the Collectors edition a few years back but now that I have Windows Vista I very much doubt they'll work :(
I can however play the ones that are available to download online but so far its only Kq1 and kq2  :'( I want to play number 4 again!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: B'rrr on June 28, 2010, 04:56:11 AM
Doesn't KQ4 work if you use DOSBox or another likewise emulator? I usually use that for my old games like QFG3 and such.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: darthkiwi on June 28, 2010, 05:31:26 AM
Guys, you can get KQ I-VII on Steam for 10:

http://store.steampowered.com/app/10100/

Unfortunately they only have the remake of KQ1, which I think uses the same graphics and interface engine as KQIV, and not the original. But, on the plus side, they both worked fine on my XP machine (aside from some odd graphical glitches - some pixels from the text boxes got "mislaid" somehow - nothing major, though) without me putting in any effort whatsoever.

I'm hoping I can make my way through all of them (including MoE, if I still have the disk) before July the 10th. Wheee!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: crayauchtin on June 28, 2010, 06:57:40 AM
Well I'm probably gonna skim the KQ Omnipedia (http://kingsquest.wikia.com) and re-educate myself, I don't know that I'll have time to actually play the games again!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 28, 2010, 07:10:11 AM
Well I'm probably gonna skim the KQ Omnipedia (http://kingsquest.wikia.com) and re-educate myself, I don't know that I'll have time to actually play the games again!

I'm boycotting the Omnipedia. I had some very cute and sarcastic reviews of the games. Other people came in and added "better" reviews...and over the last couple years, they've completely taken my stuff out :( There as even a section just for me...and now it's gone :(
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 28, 2010, 08:03:27 AM
No diskdrive as in, floppy disk or compact disk or... ?

You can find a friend who has a working diskdrive and let him/her mail it to you.


The collection is compact disks, so it's not that old.

I have other disk drives that I might be able to replace it with, but that's not exactly my area of expertise. You know, replacing computer parts and such. But it's looking like I might have to.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: crayauchtin on June 28, 2010, 08:43:48 AM
Cat, why don't you just go back in and edit them again?
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: waltzdancing on June 28, 2010, 09:28:38 AM
They were very witty but it would take time for her to add them again. Unless you saved them, Cat? Also if you don't want to play through them again, we have something, down the road in goodies for you all.  :suffer:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 28, 2010, 09:38:28 AM
They were very witty but it would take time for her to add them again. Unless you saved them, Cat? Also if you don't want to play through them again, we have something, down the road in goodies for you all.  :suffer:

Ooh, sounds exciting!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: waltzdancing on June 28, 2010, 09:51:10 AM
Keep coming back, we aren't going to leave you high and dry. I promise!  :)
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: KatieHal on June 28, 2010, 10:11:31 AM
I've been catching up on the old games lately by watching Let's Plays on youtube. Plus it's fun to hear the commentary! Some good LPers in particular....

Toegoff (http://www.youtube.com/user/Toegoff): he's done KQ6 and KQ7 blind LPs, as well as one of our TSL demo, and also did the Let's Save TSL video.
LateBlt (http://www.youtube.com/user/lateblt): he did a KQ6 LP with hercrabbiness (http://www.youtube.com/user/hercrabbiness)
Resulka (http://www.youtube.com/user/Resulka): has a KQ7 LP
OOCloud36 (http://www.youtube.com/user/OOcloud36): has the only KQ4 LP I've found!
Pawdugan (http://www.youtube.com/user/pawdugan) has a hilarious KQ5 LP!

There are plenty more, but those are the LPers I've particularly enjoyed for these LPs and others that they've done. Some may contain swearing and spoilers, so, be forewarned!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Rider Jetfire on June 28, 2010, 10:23:36 AM
Keep coming back, we aren't going to leave you high and dry. I promise!  :)
Any hints?  Pleeaaaseeee?
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 28, 2010, 11:35:53 AM
Cat, why don't you just go back in and edit them again?

I think whoever took them out would probably take them out again. Oh well...it was fun while it lasted. Of course, if you want to read them, just click the history page, and then look for one of the first changes :P
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: waltzdancing on June 28, 2010, 11:42:56 AM
Keep coming back, we aren't going to leave you high and dry. I promise!  :)
Any hints?  Pleeaaaseeee?

Patience is a virtue.   :suffer:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 28, 2010, 11:44:27 AM
And here I thought Waltz had given a pretty good hint!

:suffer:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: waltzdancing on June 28, 2010, 11:46:03 AM
It's all in the wording.  :sneaky:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 28, 2010, 11:47:33 AM
Cat: I've been reading the reviews, and they're pretty good. You should put them all on a thread here for easy access, or something. And does the next thing have something to do with water? She did say she wouldn't leave us "high and dry"...
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 28, 2010, 11:50:52 AM
It's all in the wording.  :sneaky:

True. And I DO know what's coming :P

(Posted on: June 28, 2010, 12:50:17 PM)


Cat: I've been reading the reviews, and they're pretty good. You should put them all on a thread here for easy access, or something. And does the next thing have something to do with water? She did say she wouldn't leave us "high and dry"...

Thank you. I guess they thought the sarcasm was a bit childish :P And, as to the water...

:suffer: :suffer: :suffer:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Kimmie on June 28, 2010, 12:05:00 PM
Guys, you can get KQ I-VII on Steam for 10:

http://store.steampowered.com/app/10100/

Unfortunately they only have the remake of KQ1, which I think uses the same graphics and interface engine as KQIV, and not the original. But, on the plus side, they both worked fine on my XP machine (aside from some odd graphical glitches - some pixels from the text boxes got "mislaid" somehow - nothing major, though) without me putting in any effort

oooh sounds good!

Is it a download or do they send you a new disc?? I have vista...I hope it will work on my computer!! :D
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 28, 2010, 12:10:25 PM
I, for one, like sarcasm and wit. I guess some people just don't appreciate it.

As for water, I'm guessing that I'm either right on the money or completely off... though, I don't what else could have been hidden in the wording. Maybe something low, as opposed to high? Or something low and wet... the ocean?

I've got it!

We're going to have a water balloon fight on the beach.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 28, 2010, 12:34:04 PM
I've got it! We're going to have a water balloon fight on the beach.


SHHHH! Not so loud!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 28, 2010, 12:37:54 PM
Is that better, Cat?
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: darthkiwi on June 28, 2010, 01:29:20 PM
Quote
Is it a download or do they send you a new disc?? I have vista...I hope it will work on my computer!!
You buy it through Steam, so it's a download. Steam is a gaming service where, once you sign up, you can buy and download games to your account. The advantage of this system is that, if you can download and install Steam on another computer, you can just login to your account and Steam will let you download any of your already-bought games to the new computer.

They certainly all work on Windows XP; I might just try it on my Vista machine too, to make sure...
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 28, 2010, 03:11:53 PM
Keep coming back, we aren't going to leave you high and dry. I promise!  :)
Hmmmm, in that one screenshot there was a pic of Graham being swooped down on by the Winged Ones while it poured down rain...that is a place that is both high and not dry...
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on June 28, 2010, 03:43:20 PM
The games from the King's Quest Collection all work on Vista. The only problem I had was that in KQ7, the wand cursor was surrounded by a black square instead of being transparent like it's supposed to be. Kind of an immersion-breaker, or at least it was for me. But other than that, I had no problems running the games in Vista.
I don't know if I'll have time to play through 1-7, and I never even finished 8, so I doubt I'll be able to do them all before TSL comes out, especially since I have school as well. I really, really want to, though...

EDIT: Oh, I just remembered: the introduction video in KQ6 didn't work very well. It was choppy and some of the colors were wrong. Very unfortunate, because it's quite wonderful when it works properly.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: writerlove on June 28, 2010, 05:08:20 PM
Hmmm... I have the games on a Windows 3.1 computer (Remember that, anyone?) But I might watch my favorite playthrough by shadyparadox on youtube. He's really good. Y'all should check him out.

http://www.youtube.com/user/shadyparadox?blend=2&ob=1
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on June 28, 2010, 06:28:34 PM
Hmmm... I have the games on a Windows 3.1 computer (Remember that, anyone?)
Yup. Still have one at home. When I went to play through them again and KQ7 had the cursor issue I didn't have access to that machine, so I tried to install 3.1 in VMWare and then, when that failed, in DOSBox. Got it working, but KQ7 needed 256 color graphics drivers, and all of the ones I tried either didn't fix the problem or screwed up Windows. But yeah, that was a blast from the past. It's hard to believe that there was a day when Windows was just an application and not an operating system, but I lived through it.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Farquhar on June 28, 2010, 08:46:54 PM
The first time I ever played a KQ game (KQVI) it was on Win 3.1....

Wow, that was forever ago LOL.

Anyways, I may need to play at least some of the games before the 10th to help battle the anticipation. ;D
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: tessspoon on June 29, 2010, 12:09:31 PM
If anyone's trying to play the 2006 Collector's Edition don't forget about the patches (http://www.sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updates/NewCollectionDOSBoxUpdaters.html) like I did and then wonder why KQ7 wouldn't run. :P

Think it's supposed to help with Vista too, maybe 7 as well.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 29, 2010, 03:28:17 PM
Oooh, that's right.  Thanks, Tess!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: snabbott on June 29, 2010, 08:50:12 PM
Cat, why don't you just go back in and edit them again?

I think whoever took them out would probably take them out again. Oh well...it was fun while it lasted. Of course, if you want to read them, just click the history page, and then look for one of the first changes :P
It looks like they were separated out from the main articles - there's a category "Cat's Reviews."

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Cat%27s_Reviews
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 29, 2010, 08:53:06 PM
It looks like they were separated out from the main articles - there's a category "Cat's Reviews."

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Cat%27s_Reviews

Oh, cool! Now I can read them all...
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: atec123 on June 29, 2010, 08:57:36 PM
I just beat the first one.

yay me.

time for the remake.  then the second one and the remake (the second remake....  can't wait to solve that one again!)
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 29, 2010, 08:58:24 PM
Quote from: Cat's Cute & Thorough King's Quest III: To Heir is Human Review
They go down the stairs (Rosella is horrible about getting in the way!)...

Yeah, because of that my family dubbed those "The Rosella Stairs". Ah, memories.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 29, 2010, 09:00:17 PM
lol, that's awesome! I didn't know they had kept them! :D I's happy now!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: tessspoon on June 29, 2010, 09:07:38 PM
It looks like they were separated out from the main articles - there's a category "Cat's Reviews."

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/Category:Cat%27s_Reviews
Cool, good find!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on June 29, 2010, 09:23:03 PM
I have now read all of the reviews.

Hehe, MoE only gets like two paragraphs.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 29, 2010, 09:44:38 PM
I have now read all of the reviews.

Hehe, MoE only gets like two paragraphs.

Gosh, I was generous...
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on June 29, 2010, 09:49:57 PM
If anyone's trying to play the 2006 Collector's Edition don't forget about the patches (http://www.sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updates/NewCollectionDOSBoxUpdaters.html) like I did and then wonder why KQ7 wouldn't run. :P
Well. This would have been nice to know about. I had no idea a patch had been released; thanks so much for posting this! :)
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: tessspoon on June 29, 2010, 10:09:24 PM
NP! :) Worked wonders for KQ7, though I have yet to test out the firecracker bug...

Looks like there's a lot of patches for other Sierra games on that website as well, if anyone ever needs them.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on June 29, 2010, 10:15:11 PM
NP! :) Worked wonders for KQ7, though I have yet to test out the firecracker bug...
Is that where the firecracker would explode in your pocket before you get the chance to use it? I encountered that the last time I played and exiting the game and re-entering fixed it, as I recall.
Hopefully this also fixed the movies in KQ6. I know for certain it fixed the music and sound effects in KQ2; everything sounds so much better now (relatively speaking)!
Looks like there's a lot of patches for other Sierra games on that website as well, if anyone ever needs them.
Yeah, I grabbed them all. The only other collection I have is the Space Quest Collection, but I plan on buying the PQ and LSL ones at some point in the future as I've never played any of those games.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: tessspoon on June 29, 2010, 10:20:44 PM
Yep, apparently the game code used the speed of the processor or something like that to time the firecracker; problem is computers are so much faster now it explodes pretty much instantly. Makes it pretty much unplayable (or at least takes a really long time to get past) if you can't get it fixed.

Haven't tried the KQ6 videos yet. The KQ7 ones played but sounded really wonky. Seen them many times though so didn't bother trying to fix them.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on June 29, 2010, 10:24:27 PM
Yep, apparently the game code used the speed of the processor or something like that to time the firecracker; problem is computers are so much faster now it explodes pretty much instantly.
Ah, yup. That would do it.
The KQ7 ones played but sounded really wonky. Seen them many times though so didn't bother trying to fix them.
I'm a perfectionist by nature, especially when it comes to stuff I really love, like King's Quest, which is what drove me to spend hours trying to install Windows 3.1 in DosBox. I'm currently trying to play through all the games again before TSL comes out, though, so we'll see what happens. If they're still broken, maybe I can tweak some setting to get them to work. DosBox is up to 0.74 now too, so it's possible that an update could have fixed them.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Haids1987 on June 29, 2010, 10:49:36 PM
Is that where the firecracker would explode in your pocket before you get the chance to use it?
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.  It took me seventy-three tries to do it the last time I played.   :wall:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: crayauchtin on June 29, 2010, 11:52:02 PM
lol, that's awesome! I didn't know they had kept them! :D I's happy now!
So no more boycott? :P
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on June 30, 2010, 05:39:32 AM
lol, that's awesome! I didn't know they had kept them! :D I's happy now!
So no more boycott? :P

They're difficulty to find. Still boycotting...just bookmarking my reviews :P
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: atec123 on June 30, 2010, 07:21:14 AM
Is that where the firecracker would explode in your pocket before you get the chance to use it?
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.  It took me seventy-three tries to do it the last time I played.   :wall:
that has never happened to me.

maybe I have been lucky.

running on both a OOOLLLLLLDDDD windows 95 lappy with who knows what on it... and my current computer with dosbox/win3.1.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: snabbott on June 30, 2010, 08:41:06 AM
Yep, apparently the game code used the speed of the processor or something like that to time the firecracker; problem is computers are so much faster now it explodes pretty much instantly.
You can use utilities like these (http://www.sierrahelp.com/Utilities/SlowdownUtilities.html) to slow down your computer.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: B'rrr on June 30, 2010, 10:14:18 AM
Maybe I am getting color blind (or not getting but already am) but I have a hard time to see links like thi;sometimes, if I know they are there, it is not a problem but if I do not expect them, they slip past me a lot.

lots of games have speed issues, most annoying I found was the weaponmaster in QFG1, I lost so fast and always thought I just sucked  :-\
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: snabbott on June 30, 2010, 12:44:07 PM
Maybe I am getting color blind (or not getting but already am) but I have a hard time to see links like thi;sometimes, if I know they are there, it is not a problem but if I do not expect them, they slip past me a lot.
I changed the link color to make it more visible.
Title: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: liggy002 on July 08, 2010, 11:49:52 AM
So guys, raise your virtual hand if you're going to play through all of the King's Quest in order and then beat TSL.  I'm going to have to do this since I'm clearly a King's Quest nerd and proud of it.  Though, i'd have to say that i'll need to play through TSL first- no more waiting once it's out!   2 Days!
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: Rosella on July 08, 2010, 11:51:36 AM
There's already a thread for this, actually, but I've gotten through 1-6 and I'm on Chapter 3 of KQVII. I'm ready for this. :P
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: Enchantermon on July 08, 2010, 11:55:58 AM
I'm halfway through Mordack's labyrinth in KQV, and do plan on completing all of them before touching TSL. In fact, I'll be finishing KQVIII for the first time, too.
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: liggy002 on July 08, 2010, 11:57:33 AM
Does anyone know how to run King's Quest 8 on Windows 7 64 bit?  This is the only one I have not played because I am not sure how to run it on modern systems.
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: Enchantermon on July 08, 2010, 12:02:34 PM
Haven't tried it yet, but for starters don't intall it to the Program files or Program Files (x86) directories, and when you do install it, right-click on the .exe, click on Properties, and check the box that says Run as Administrator. If you have problems after that, you may want to go back to that Properties box and try setting compatibility modes for XP or earlier operating systems. None of this is guaranteed, but it's a place to start. Hit up Google too; there are probably others who have tried the same thing. Hope this helps. :)
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: I_am_so_nifty on July 08, 2010, 12:05:05 PM
I think I recall running MoE on Windows XP once, and if I remember it worked just fine.
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: Jafar on July 08, 2010, 12:28:52 PM
I started two days ago, and I'm about half-way through KQ6.

Did you know that if you don't pick up the crowbar in KQ5, that creepy blue monster appears outside the castle and captures you? :P
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: Baggins on July 08, 2010, 12:48:38 PM
I've put up some tricks to running MOE on at least XP in best quality (Glide mode) here;

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/Glide_Wrapper

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/King%27s_Quest:_Mask_of_Eternity#Technical_Support
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: waltzdancing on July 08, 2010, 12:59:23 PM
I started two days ago, and I'm about half-way through KQ6.

Did you know that if you don't pick up the crowbar in KQ5, that creepy blue monster appears outside the castle and captures you? :P

No way!! I didn't know that. That would be funny to see.  ;D
Title: Re: Raise your hand if.....
Post by: Haids1987 on July 08, 2010, 01:37:12 PM
Here's the original thread:

http://www.postudios.com/blog/forum/index.php?topic=8559.msg279097#msg279097

:yes:
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: koko_99_2001 on July 08, 2010, 01:41:15 PM
Thanks Haids! I had trouble finding the original :)
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: liggy002 on July 08, 2010, 02:09:46 PM
I bought the Collectors edition a few years back but now that I have Windows Vista I very much doubt they'll work :(
I can however play the ones that are available to download online but so far its only Kq1 and kq2  :'( I want to play number 4 again!

Kimmie, I'm using Windows 7 and I got it to work.  Windows 7 is compatible with a lot of the same programs Vista is.  You just have to update dosbox.  Try here: http://www.sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updates/NewCollectionDOSBoxUpdaters.html

I had to install the collection under a seperate directory I created myself in order for it to work: C:\Sierra\King's Quest Collection.  I'm not entirely sure how it works with Vista but you can try installing the collection and dowloading the patch.  Unfortunately, the games will only play under windowed mode but that's better than nothing!
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on July 08, 2010, 02:16:52 PM
Unfortunately, the games will only play under windowed mode but that's better than nothing!
Are you sure? Windows 7 can play them in fullscreen mode; I'd be surprised if Vista can't (though I'll admit it's possible).
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: liggy002 on July 08, 2010, 03:30:27 PM
Unfortunately, the games will only play under windowed mode but that's better than nothing!
Are you sure? Windows 7 can play them in fullscreen mode; I'd be surprised if Vista can't (though I'll admit it's possible).

I wasn't able to get them to play in full screen but I'll see if I can find a way.  I am not absolutely sure on this.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on July 08, 2010, 03:39:09 PM
If they start in a window by default, select the window (click on the title bar) and press Ctrl-Alt-Enter. That should switch from a window to fullscreen.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: liggy002 on July 08, 2010, 03:43:08 PM
Yeah, that did it!  Worked like magic!  They don't call you enchantermon for nothing.  Thanks man.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on July 08, 2010, 03:44:07 PM
No problem. Glad I could help. :)
Actually...if you use the patch you linked to a few posts ago, one of the configuration options you set for each game should be whether you want to play in windowed mode or fullscreen, iirc.

EDIT: Yup, the options (when you run conf.exe) are Small Window, Large Window and Fullscreen.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: liggy002 on July 08, 2010, 07:46:16 PM
Oddly enough, I kept setting the configuration option to "full screen" but it would come up windowed anyway.  However, after pushing control alt enter, the issue was solved.
Title: Re: Anyone else feel the need...
Post by: Enchantermon on July 08, 2010, 08:04:33 PM
Weird. Ah well, at least you can still get it there. :)