Author Topic: Episode 2 setup wont work  (Read 9656 times)

Offline blsower

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Episode 2 setup wont work
« on: January 30, 2013, 02:40:32 AM »
I recently bought episode 2 the wise monkey of Cognition. I download the file and it must be correupted or something. Its a white file, its unknown publisher and file type. I can send the file to you guys so u known what im talking. But the setup file is unknown and doesnt work. I got it from ur website.

Offline Cez

  • CEO
  • Administrator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3573
  • Gender: Male
  • Together. We'll walk these corridors together.
    • Phoenix Online
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2013, 03:19:56 AM »
Hello,

Let me know if downloading the file again made it work. I replied to you over email.

Thanks!


Cesar Bittar
CEO
Phoenix Online
cesar.bittar@postudios.com

Offline blsower

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2013, 03:26:49 AM »
Nope i try to download it, and same problem

Offline blsower

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2013, 03:50:31 AM »
maybe u can send the file to my email and i can download from there

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2013, 09:18:15 AM »
I replied to the email you sent with a suggestion, give that a try.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Big C from Cauney island

  • Royal Heir
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2013, 11:18:47 AM »
Yea, I'm having the same problem. Just a blank file. Takes up a gig, but I can't do anything with it

Offline wilco64256

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2013, 11:21:05 AM »
I'm gonna sticky this as I think I've found the fix (though unfortunately not the cause of this rather strange issue yet). The extension is somehow getting lost for some people. It's supposed to have a .exe on the end of the CognitionEpisode2Setup file. Rename the file and stick that .exe on the end and the installer should run just fine. And hopefully we can figure out what's causing this oddity soon.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Big C from Cauney island

  • Royal Heir
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #7 on: January 30, 2013, 11:27:05 AM »
Yea, I was just messing around and got that to work. I never knew I had such hacker skills. Wait till I tell the ladies....

Offline Darkpulse

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #8 on: January 30, 2013, 12:03:30 PM »
I'm gonna sticky this as I think I've found the fix (though unfortunately not the cause of this rather strange issue yet). The extension is somehow getting lost for some people. It's supposed to have a .exe on the end of the CognitionEpisode2Setup file. Rename the file and stick that .exe on the end and the installer should run just fine. And hopefully we can figure out what's causing this oddity soon.

Windows 8 and Internet Explorer 10 have the tendency to change .exe in _exe after a file.. I think it is because win8 thinks users are not very smart creatures and click on everything executable.. even harmful stuff...

Offline snabbott

  • Beta Tester
  • Global Moderator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 5250
  • Gender: Male
  • Fairy tales do come true!
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2013, 01:21:30 PM »
Also, Windows doesn't show the .exe by default - again because Microsoft thinks users will break stuff by renaming files w/o the extensions. (Unfortunately, they're probably right.) So if you have an installer that seems fine but you don't see the .exe, this may be why.

Of course, as some people have pointed out, not displaying the extension lets people do nasty things like naming files "TotallyNotAVirus.txt.exe" - which will display as TotallyNotAVirus.txt by default. ::)

Steve Abbott | Beta Tester | The Silver Lining

Offline Darth Judo

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2013, 11:56:04 PM »
I have had the same problem - have tried downloading the file five times now and been told I cannot download it any more. The file I get is approx 910 meg in size and tells me the file is corrupt when I try to install. It's not a file extension problem as it will run just fine.

Can you tell me how I can download this file, and can you reset my permissions to actually do this?

Offline KatieHal

  • Designer, Public Relations Director
  • Administrator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 6561
  • Gender: Female
  • Snark Advocate
    • Phoenix Online Studios
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2013, 06:33:59 AM »
Hi DarthJudo, can you email us at support at postudios.com and let us know what kind of error message you're getting? We'll help you get set up (and we can reset the download counter, no worries there).

Katie Hallahan
~Designer, PR Director~

"Change is the constant, the signal for rebirth, the egg of the phoenix." Christina Baldwin

I have a blog!

Offline riker1

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2013, 08:32:19 AM »
Has anyone been receiving a file corrupted error with the 'resources.assets' files during install? I have downloaded multiple times from multiple browsers and multiple download locations. I even restarted the computer and tried again. Each time I get an error about a source file being corrupted (image attached). I'm not sure what to do.

I'm on Windows 7 64bit. Installed and played Cognition Ep 1 just fine (Through Gamestop installer).

If anyone has come across the same issue and figured it out, please let me know.

Offline Oldbushie

  • Administrator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 7488
  • Gender: Other
  • Mmmm... rich creamery butter...
    • Aerobush Entertainment
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #13 on: February 04, 2013, 12:22:56 AM »
Have you tried downloading from a different internet connection? It's possible that your internet connection is faulty, especially if you're using an older method to connect like DSL. Other people have reported download problems with large files as well. You could also try some of the options in this article:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc558565(v=bts.10).aspx

The most relevant option might be this: Max Receive Buffers

You can use this tool to verify files in Windows:
http://www.implbits.com/hashtab.aspx

Once Hashtab is installed, go to the Cognition installer file and right click, choose properties, and go to the File Hashes tab. These are the CRC32 values you should see for the Windows installers:
Episode 1 - 9BF874FC
Episode 2 - 56C3DE61

If the CRC32 value you get differs from those above, then it sounds like the download got corrupted in transmission. Unfortunately there's not much we can do from our end besides adding more mirrors, and even that is not a guarantee. You'd have to check your computer's network settings or maybe call your ISP (Internet Service Provider) to report a problem with downloading large files. It's not unheard of to get noise in internet connection lines.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2013, 12:28:09 AM by Oldbushie »
.......... <3 Oldbushie <3 ..........
Forum Emoticon God
Master of Time and Space
Aerobush of the Jarada Knights
TSL Programmer
and...
The TSL Candyman




Hero Of The Queene!

Offline riker1

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #14 on: February 08, 2013, 06:30:48 PM »
Thank you very much for the CRC's. I finally downloaded the files correctly. I think it was Windows Security Essentials (the antivirus program) that was messing with the downloaded file; though I still have some testing to do. Maybe the real-time scan was messing with the download? In any case, I was able to download the installers finally with CRC value that matched what you posted.

Offline Oldbushie

  • Administrator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 7488
  • Gender: Other
  • Mmmm... rich creamery butter...
    • Aerobush Entertainment
Re: Episode 2 setup wont work
« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2013, 03:01:12 PM »
I'm glad I could help and that you got it taken care of!
.......... <3 Oldbushie <3 ..........
Forum Emoticon God
Master of Time and Space
Aerobush of the Jarada Knights
TSL Programmer
and...
The TSL Candyman




Hero Of The Queene!

 

anything