Author Topic: Microphone problems  (Read 1896 times)

Offline Warlock

  • Powerful Wizard
  • ******
  • Posts: 1757
  • Gender: Male
  • Tigey.
Microphone problems
« on: November 09, 2004, 08:04:21 AM »

Maybe when I get a microphone lol... this is a lucky time to be poor :P

if you'd like you should record it so we could enjoy your singqualities  :D
"Ask not what your forum can do for you, ask what you can do for your forum"

Offline B'rrr

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 11058
  • Gender: Male
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2004, 08:44:13 AM »
lol, if I had a spare mic I gave you one, but unfortunate I don't have one either  :-\
~Mary Jane supporter~
~Legend~

Offline copycat

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 8180
  • Gender: Male
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2004, 02:51:37 PM »
'cause you're not welcome anymore,
Eh?

lol, if I had a spare mic I gave you one, but unfortunate I don't have one either  :-\
I'm still trying to figure out how to operate the mic part on my headset properly. :-\
Fannatic of the cat team.
Official Manager of the TSL Asylum
Defender of all things against Connor. :stabs:
Grammar Police superintendant.
The Silver Lining rises from its ashes!

Official member of the Kelsey Fanclub :thumbsup:
Official TSL: Shadows Beta Tester (ret.) :yes:
Official Cognition: An Erica Reed Mystery Episode 1 QA.

Offline B'rrr

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 11058
  • Gender: Male
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2004, 03:34:51 PM »
doesn't it work automatic when you autodetect/install it?? :S
~Mary Jane supporter~
~Legend~

Offline copycat

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 8180
  • Gender: Male
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2004, 03:50:07 PM »
doesn't it work automatic when you autodetect/install it?? :S
Detecting it isn't the problem. It doesn't need to be installed either, my on-board sound chip is detected too. However, when I listened to the first tests I made, I only heard a faint sound at full volume.  I did some snooping around and I found this little checkbox called MicBoost, and that seems to have helped. However, I'm still not sure if it's enough and it's kindof absurd to start shouting at your microphone. :-\
« Last Edit: November 10, 2004, 05:27:47 PM by copycat »
Fannatic of the cat team.
Official Manager of the TSL Asylum
Defender of all things against Connor. :stabs:
Grammar Police superintendant.
The Silver Lining rises from its ashes!

Official member of the Kelsey Fanclub :thumbsup:
Official TSL: Shadows Beta Tester (ret.) :yes:
Official Cognition: An Erica Reed Mystery Episode 1 QA.

Offline Yonkey

  • Phoenix Honour Guard
  • ************
  • Posts: 18427
  • Gender: Male
  • Nothing ventured, nothing gained
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2004, 03:52:42 PM »
I had that problem with mics in the past.  You do need to check the Mic Gain Boost feature if there is one.  But you can also speak normally, then in an audio program choose "Normalize" and it will automatically fix the volume.  8)
"A wish changes nothing. A decision changes everything."

Offline Jeysie

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 4635
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2004, 04:16:07 PM »
Are you sure that the microphone and base recording volume is turned all the way up, too?

Peace & Luv, Liz

Offline Louisiana Night

  • Omnipotent Being
  • *********
  • Posts: 6573
  • Gender: Male
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2004, 05:28:28 PM »
In Windows, I had the same problem as CC.

I have to use non-MS sofware, to get my microphone working(like Neil said, normalize). :-\

Offline copycat

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 8180
  • Gender: Male
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2004, 05:31:42 PM »
You do need to check the Mic Gain Boost feature if there is one.  But you can also speak normally, then in an audio program choose "Normalize" and it will automatically fix the volume.  8)
I thought I already indicated I checked the MicBoost. ;)
I've yet to come across an audio program that has an option 'Normalize'. That, or I haven't found it yet.

Are you sure that the microphone and base recording volume is turned all the way up, too?
Yet another strange thing. When I check the audio mixer, the lever for the mic is all the way down, and yet when I record this way, I can hear me, but only when I turn the playback volume all the way up. Therefor, I wonder if turning it up will achieve anything. Base recording volume?
Fannatic of the cat team.
Official Manager of the TSL Asylum
Defender of all things against Connor. :stabs:
Grammar Police superintendant.
The Silver Lining rises from its ashes!

Official member of the Kelsey Fanclub :thumbsup:
Official TSL: Shadows Beta Tester (ret.) :yes:
Official Cognition: An Erica Reed Mystery Episode 1 QA.

Offline Yonkey

  • Phoenix Honour Guard
  • ************
  • Posts: 18427
  • Gender: Male
  • Nothing ventured, nothing gained
Re:Warlock's Thread
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2004, 07:44:43 PM »
I've yet to come across an audio program that has an option 'Normalize'. That, or I haven't found it yet.
It might be called something else like Amplify or similar.  It's a feature that scans the file and either increases or decreases the volume so that it plays at a normal volume level.


Yet another strange thing. When I check the audio mixer, the lever for the mic is all the way down, and yet when I record this way, I can hear me, but only when I turn the playback volume all the way up. Therefor, I wonder if turning it up will achieve anything. Base recording volume?
Well, playback volume has no effect on recording, so, you could even mute the playback and still record.  Your recording volume for mic should be at 50% or higher.  

I would set it to 100% and put playback to 50%, then if it's too loud or distorts, reduce the recording volume.  If it's too soft, increase the playback volume.  8)
"A wish changes nothing. A decision changes everything."