Author Topic: [FIXED]tsl.exe appcrash (Category: Graphics)  (Read 2007 times)

Offline rkey

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 3
[FIXED]tsl.exe appcrash (Category: Graphics)
« on: July 30, 2010, 02:27:04 AM »
Computer:
Lenovo x200
CPU:          Core 2 Duo L9400 @ 1.86 GHz
RAM:         1944MB  DDR3-1006
Video Card:      Intel 4500 MHD
Operating System:   Windows Vista Business (6.0, Build 6001) 32 bit

I have installed the program into it's own file on my c drive. I can run the configuration program. I am running  tsl.exe as an admin. However I can't get the program to run it crashes before displaying anything. I receive the following report from vista:

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   tsl.exe
  Application Version:   0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp:   4c041b22
  Fault Module Name:   tsl.exe
  Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   4c041b22
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   0005e967
  OS Version:   6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.6
  Locale ID:   4105
  Additional Information 1:   9445
  Additional Information 2:   915fc82a1a8d59fea650fd0c7dcda8d2
  Additional Information 3:   7545
  Additional Information 4:   f8f2492d507d598f78644490723e83a2

I have tried 2 different drivers from lenovo. An older one from 2008 and a new one from 2010. After I installed the newer driver i received a gray screen once for a second and a message stating the the display failed to reconfigure. However I can't get it to do that again. I realize that integrated graphics are not going to run well however I should be able to run the game at low resolutions. I have tried several different configurations both windowed and non windowed. I don't think it is important but I have the vista aero visuals turned off also. I haven't tried disabling the security features of vista yet.

Thanks

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: tsl.exe appcrash
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 09:42:47 AM »
Are you running the configuration tool itself as an administrator?  Sometimes it has trouble saving configuration changes if you're not.  In addition to unchecking the fullscreen box you'd also want to change the detail level box to Low and uncheck all the boxes for extra stuff like shadows and reflections.

How much video memory does that computer actually have?  The newest Lenovo driver should work just fine.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline rkey

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: tsl.exe appcrash
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 12:27:50 PM »
Thanks I forgot to run the configuration tool as an admin. I works now.

I think the Intel GMA 4500 uses up to 512 MB of system memory.

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: tsl.exe appcrash
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 12:33:55 PM »
Excellent, glad you were able to get it working, happy gaming!
Weldon Hathaway
 

anything