Author Topic: ranger not appearing???  (Read 6462 times)

Offline theduramater

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 5
ranger not appearing???
« on: March 08, 2011, 07:58:54 PM »
Ok...so...I didn't even know about the existence of a ranger until it was referenced in the 3rd episode.  How did I miss this appearance???  Did I not do something to trigger his appearance???

~Erin

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2011, 07:59:45 PM »
It's possible you triggered a bug in the download you got, if you grab the fix above in the "buffer overrun" thread it'll correct this issue as well.

Actually the patch is in the thread here http://www.postudios.com/blog/forum/index.php?topic=10272.0 .  Not in this forum, sorry.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Ultima992

  • Devoted Knight
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Gender: Male
  • Stuck in the game? Check out my walkthrough!
    • Phoenix Online Studios - The Silver Lining - Walkthrough
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2011, 01:22:07 PM »
curious.
 are you guys going to link those patches to this page?

http://www.postudios.com/blog/?page_id=4&category=1

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2011, 01:23:44 PM »
We don't really need to as the downloads on that page all have the most current patches built in.  If somebody is still seeing these bugs now it's either because they downloaded the game before I made the patches.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Ultima992

  • Devoted Knight
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
  • Gender: Male
  • Stuck in the game? Check out my walkthrough!
    • Phoenix Online Studios - The Silver Lining - Walkthrough
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2011, 02:08:08 PM »
We don't really need to as the downloads on that page all have the most current patches built in.  If somebody is still seeing these bugs now it's either because they downloaded the game before I made the patches.

doh' good morning  :) i did not think of that...

better finish my cup of coffee before i go posting :P

Offline theduramater

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2011, 05:44:13 PM »
I tried using the patch and he's still not appearing.  If I just redownload and install it with the version posted in downloads, will he appear???

Thanks!

~Erin

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2011, 06:20:57 PM »
After you installed that patch did you restart Episode 2 from scratch?
Weldon Hathaway

Offline theduramater

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2011, 06:14:35 PM »
Yeah!  He still won't appear!  If I redownload it and reinstall it, will he appear???  I just want to see him!!!

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2011, 07:48:52 PM »
Most likely the patch file didn't get into the right location, you need to make sure it's saving as just scripts.tsl, so when you're downloading make sure you choose the "all files" option or it will add an extra extension at the end, and make sure you're putting it in the same folder where the old one is and overwriting that one.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline whatisthis76

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2011, 07:03:40 PM »
I downloaded the game yesterday 5/31/11.  Just finished episode 2, the ranger did not appear.
the episode 2 recap at the beginning of episode 3 was the first indication that i missed something.

? how to fix?

Offline Buddy1991

  • Silly Adventurer
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2011, 04:26:44 AM »
If you talk about the sequence at the Isle of Wonder where Graham talks to the Ranger (by the chess board) ... I didn't see that, either.
I just found out about that sequence by the "Previously on the Silver Lining"-scenes at the beginning of Episode 3.
I just thought that I must have missed him since I never went back to the Isle of Wonder after I had done all the stuff I had to do there...

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2011, 08:44:19 AM »
I downloaded the game yesterday 5/31/11.  Just finished episode 2, the ranger did not appear.
the episode 2 recap at the beginning of episode 3 was the first indication that i missed something.

? how to fix?



Try the patch I referred to several posts above yours.  Also, which download did you get - the big one with all three episodes or did you download episodes 1 and 2 and then get the installer for just episode 3 to go on top of those?
Weldon Hathaway

Offline whatisthis76

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2011, 08:52:41 PM »
I downloaded the large file with all three episodes.

I downloaded and saved the script.tsl patch.

After starting chapter 2 over -  the missing cutscene was there.

thanks!

Offline armandhr

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #13 on: July 04, 2011, 10:03:14 PM »
We don't really need to as the downloads on that page all have the most current patches built in.  If somebody is still seeing these bugs now it's either because they downloaded the game before I made the patches.
Actually, I downloaded the game just a few days ago via that page (as part of the "Full Build of Episodes 1, 2, and 3"), and I ran into this glitch as well.  In addition to skipping the cutscene, the game also allowed me entrance into chessboard land without
Spoiler (mouse over to reveal):
  The game instead treats it as if I've already been to chessboard land: Graham just walks by the arguing guards.

After downloading the patched scripts.tsl file, my saved games still had the glitch, but then upon restarting episode 2 the entrance into chessboard land was fixed and I was able to see the cutscene.

Offline Karepkg

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #14 on: August 07, 2011, 06:15:24 AM »
i've downloaded this patch and done everything i was suppose to (saved it as scripts.tsl under all files and copied it to the correct folder) and still no go. when you look under properties of this patch what should it be opening with. at one point i accidently changed that and now that's all it will use and i can't remember what it said originally. i did use it before this goof up however and still wouldn't work

Offline wilco64256

  • Moderator
  • Omnipotent Being
  • *****
  • Posts: 3978
  • Gender: Male
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2011, 09:56:25 AM »
i've downloaded this patch and done everything i was suppose to (saved it as scripts.tsl under all files and copied it to the correct folder) and still no go. when you look under properties of this patch what should it be opening with. at one point i accidently changed that and now that's all it will use and i can't remember what it said originally. i did use it before this goof up however and still wouldn't work

Did you start Episode 2 over from scratch?  If you'd already played through part of the episode before patching it, this patch wouldn't undo that.
Weldon Hathaway

Offline Karepkg

  • Wizard's Slave
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: ranger not appearing???
« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2011, 10:01:07 AM »
yes i started over from scratch