Author Topic: Anyone else feel the need...  (Read 22745 times)

Offline snabbott

  • Beta Tester
  • Global Moderator
  • Phoenix Groupie
  • *****
  • Posts: 5255
  • Gender: Male
  • Fairy tales do come true!
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #60 on: June 30, 2010, 12:44:07 PM »
Maybe I am getting color blind (or not getting but already am) but I have a hard time to see links like thi;sometimes, if I know they are there, it is not a problem but if I do not expect them, they slip past me a lot.
I changed the link color to make it more visible.

Steve Abbott | Beta Tester | The Silver Lining

Offline liggy002

  • Staff
  • Royal Heir
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #61 on: July 08, 2010, 11:49:52 AM »
So guys, raise your virtual hand if you're going to play through all of the King's Quest in order and then beat TSL.  I'm going to have to do this since I'm clearly a King's Quest nerd and proud of it.  Though, i'd have to say that i'll need to play through TSL first- no more waiting once it's out!   2 Days!

Offline Rosella

  • Phoenix Asylum Escapee
  • ***********
  • Posts: 12337
  • Gender: Female
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #62 on: July 08, 2010, 11:51:36 AM »
There's already a thread for this, actually, but I've gotten through 1-6 and I'm on Chapter 3 of KQVII. I'm ready for this. :P
I'm a princess even if my kingdom is pixelated.

Official Comfort Counselor of the TSL Asylum ;D

It's funny how you find you enjoy your life when you're happy to be alive.

Offline Enchantermon

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 2463
  • Gender: Male
    • Hit me up on Facebook
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #63 on: July 08, 2010, 11:55:58 AM »
I'm halfway through Mordack's labyrinth in KQV, and do plan on completing all of them before touching TSL. In fact, I'll be finishing KQVIII for the first time, too.
So what if I am, huh? Anyways, I work better when I'm drunk. It makes me fearless! If I see a bad guy, I'll just point my sword at him and saaaaaaaaaay, "Hey! Bad guy! You're not s'posed to be here! Go home or I'll stick you with my sword 'til you go, 'Ouch! I'm dead!' Ah-ha-ha!" Ha-ha. *hic* See? Ain't no one gonna be messin' wit' ol', Benny!

Offline liggy002

  • Staff
  • Royal Heir
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #64 on: July 08, 2010, 11:57:33 AM »
Does anyone know how to run King's Quest 8 on Windows 7 64 bit?  This is the only one I have not played because I am not sure how to run it on modern systems.

Offline Enchantermon

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 2463
  • Gender: Male
    • Hit me up on Facebook
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #65 on: July 08, 2010, 12:02:34 PM »
Haven't tried it yet, but for starters don't intall it to the Program files or Program Files (x86) directories, and when you do install it, right-click on the .exe, click on Properties, and check the box that says Run as Administrator. If you have problems after that, you may want to go back to that Properties box and try setting compatibility modes for XP or earlier operating systems. None of this is guaranteed, but it's a place to start. Hit up Google too; there are probably others who have tried the same thing. Hope this helps. :)
So what if I am, huh? Anyways, I work better when I'm drunk. It makes me fearless! If I see a bad guy, I'll just point my sword at him and saaaaaaaaaay, "Hey! Bad guy! You're not s'posed to be here! Go home or I'll stick you with my sword 'til you go, 'Ouch! I'm dead!' Ah-ha-ha!" Ha-ha. *hic* See? Ain't no one gonna be messin' wit' ol', Benny!

Offline I_am_so_nifty

  • Royal Heir
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
  • Gender: Male
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #66 on: July 08, 2010, 12:05:05 PM »
I think I recall running MoE on Windows XP once, and if I remember it worked just fine.
This is Nifty, Royal Heir.

I'm like, an adult now or something? Sounds fake, but okay.

Offline Jafar

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 9625
  • Gender: Male
  • Spiiin~
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #67 on: July 08, 2010, 12:28:52 PM »
I started two days ago, and I'm about half-way through KQ6.

Did you know that if you don't pick up the crowbar in KQ5, that creepy blue monster appears outside the castle and captures you? :P
The Unofficial The Silver Lining Official Sarcasm Cleaner Upper's Assistant

Defender of All Things Against Connor

Jarada Knight: The Honourable Marshmallow

Official Useless Information Finder

And who knows what else?

Offline Baggins

  • Read-Only
  • Magical Genie
  • *
  • Posts: 2554
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #68 on: July 08, 2010, 12:48:38 PM »
I've put up some tricks to running MOE on at least XP in best quality (Glide mode) here;

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/Glide_Wrapper

http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/King%27s_Quest:_Mask_of_Eternity#Technical_Support
Well, ya, King's Quest is on Earth. Daventry is very old city from a long time ago. It's in ruins now and people aren't quite sure exactly where it used to be. There are some archaeologists searching through the ruins, they think they know its Daventry. But its somewhere on Earth."-Roberta Williams http://kingsquest.wikia.com/wiki/File:Daventryisearth.ogg

Offline waltzdancing

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 1757
  • Gender: Female
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #69 on: July 08, 2010, 12:59:23 PM »
I started two days ago, and I'm about half-way through KQ6.

Did you know that if you don't pick up the crowbar in KQ5, that creepy blue monster appears outside the castle and captures you? :P

No way!! I didn't know that. That would be funny to see.  ;D

Offline Haids1987

  • Phoenix Groupie
  • **********
  • Posts: 7515
  • Gender: Female
    • Pinterest page
Re: Raise your hand if.....
« Reply #70 on: July 08, 2010, 01:37:12 PM »
STATUS:
-Drinking water
-Checking the forum. 

Perpetually. ;D
Erica Reed is Katie Hallahan.
Leader of the "I <3 Doon" Fanclub

Offline koko_99_2001

  • Beta Tester
  • Phoenix Legend
  • *************
  • Posts: 21020
  • Gender: Female
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #71 on: July 08, 2010, 01:41:15 PM »
Thanks Haids! I had trouble finding the original :)
<3 Happily married to FataliOmega since July 11, 2009 <3

The Unofficial The Silver Lining Official Sarcasm Cleaner Upper :cat:

Catherine DaCosta

Offline liggy002

  • Staff
  • Royal Heir
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #72 on: July 08, 2010, 02:09:46 PM »
I bought the Collectors edition a few years back but now that I have Windows Vista I very much doubt they'll work :(
I can however play the ones that are available to download online but so far its only Kq1 and kq2  :'( I want to play number 4 again!

Kimmie, I'm using Windows 7 and I got it to work.  Windows 7 is compatible with a lot of the same programs Vista is.  You just have to update dosbox.  Try here: http://www.sierrahelp.com/Patches-Updates/NewCollectionDOSBoxUpdaters.html

I had to install the collection under a seperate directory I created myself in order for it to work: C:\Sierra\King's Quest Collection.  I'm not entirely sure how it works with Vista but you can try installing the collection and dowloading the patch.  Unfortunately, the games will only play under windowed mode but that's better than nothing!

Offline Enchantermon

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 2463
  • Gender: Male
    • Hit me up on Facebook
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #73 on: July 08, 2010, 02:16:52 PM »
Unfortunately, the games will only play under windowed mode but that's better than nothing!
Are you sure? Windows 7 can play them in fullscreen mode; I'd be surprised if Vista can't (though I'll admit it's possible).
So what if I am, huh? Anyways, I work better when I'm drunk. It makes me fearless! If I see a bad guy, I'll just point my sword at him and saaaaaaaaaay, "Hey! Bad guy! You're not s'posed to be here! Go home or I'll stick you with my sword 'til you go, 'Ouch! I'm dead!' Ah-ha-ha!" Ha-ha. *hic* See? Ain't no one gonna be messin' wit' ol', Benny!

Offline liggy002

  • Staff
  • Royal Heir
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #74 on: July 08, 2010, 03:30:27 PM »
Unfortunately, the games will only play under windowed mode but that's better than nothing!
Are you sure? Windows 7 can play them in fullscreen mode; I'd be surprised if Vista can't (though I'll admit it's possible).

I wasn't able to get them to play in full screen but I'll see if I can find a way.  I am not absolutely sure on this.

Offline Enchantermon

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 2463
  • Gender: Male
    • Hit me up on Facebook
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #75 on: July 08, 2010, 03:39:09 PM »
If they start in a window by default, select the window (click on the title bar) and press Ctrl-Alt-Enter. That should switch from a window to fullscreen.
So what if I am, huh? Anyways, I work better when I'm drunk. It makes me fearless! If I see a bad guy, I'll just point my sword at him and saaaaaaaaaay, "Hey! Bad guy! You're not s'posed to be here! Go home or I'll stick you with my sword 'til you go, 'Ouch! I'm dead!' Ah-ha-ha!" Ha-ha. *hic* See? Ain't no one gonna be messin' wit' ol', Benny!

Offline liggy002

  • Staff
  • Royal Heir
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #76 on: July 08, 2010, 03:43:08 PM »
Yeah, that did it!  Worked like magic!  They don't call you enchantermon for nothing.  Thanks man.

Offline Enchantermon

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 2463
  • Gender: Male
    • Hit me up on Facebook
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #77 on: July 08, 2010, 03:44:07 PM »
No problem. Glad I could help. :)
Actually...if you use the patch you linked to a few posts ago, one of the configuration options you set for each game should be whether you want to play in windowed mode or fullscreen, iirc.

EDIT: Yup, the options (when you run conf.exe) are Small Window, Large Window and Fullscreen.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 03:53:56 PM by Enchantermon »
So what if I am, huh? Anyways, I work better when I'm drunk. It makes me fearless! If I see a bad guy, I'll just point my sword at him and saaaaaaaaaay, "Hey! Bad guy! You're not s'posed to be here! Go home or I'll stick you with my sword 'til you go, 'Ouch! I'm dead!' Ah-ha-ha!" Ha-ha. *hic* See? Ain't no one gonna be messin' wit' ol', Benny!

Offline liggy002

  • Staff
  • Royal Heir
  • ***
  • Posts: 333
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #78 on: July 08, 2010, 07:46:16 PM »
Oddly enough, I kept setting the configuration option to "full screen" but it would come up windowed anyway.  However, after pushing control alt enter, the issue was solved.

Offline Enchantermon

  • Magical Genie
  • *******
  • Posts: 2463
  • Gender: Male
    • Hit me up on Facebook
Re: Anyone else feel the need...
« Reply #79 on: July 08, 2010, 08:04:33 PM »
Weird. Ah well, at least you can still get it there. :)
So what if I am, huh? Anyways, I work better when I'm drunk. It makes me fearless! If I see a bad guy, I'll just point my sword at him and saaaaaaaaaay, "Hey! Bad guy! You're not s'posed to be here! Go home or I'll stick you with my sword 'til you go, 'Ouch! I'm dead!' Ah-ha-ha!" Ha-ha. *hic* See? Ain't no one gonna be messin' wit' ol', Benny!
 

anything